If Mow Had Magic

Dearest Chelsmow,

Recently I’ve been reading a lot of the book (The Wise Man’s Fear) when I wait for my silly roommate to get off work between my shift and hers. Ive hit some really weird points in the book admittedly, but am nonetheless happy that I’m only at 60% through and still have a long ways to go. Otherwise I’d have to start turning to all of my unread books on my shelf that will pale in comparison to the glory that is this series.

But one thing that I’m having a lot of fun with is recalling the things you would say about the book before I had ever laid my hands or eyes on it. It’s been fun trying to remember the assumptions I made from your comments in the beginning, like looking at old photographs and trying to figure out what I was thinking about. One comment of yours that stood out to me was when you said how (don’t mind my paraphrasing) the book made you sometimes wish that magic was real in the world. I’ve had a blast imagining what the world would be like with people calling the names of elements and using sympathy to do things. But it’s made me wonder what element you would think you’d be drawn to? I think mine would be water because water speaks to my little desert soul. It yearns for it even though it’s a powerful element I will never quite understand.

But if I DID understand it and have its true name, these are the ways in which I would use them in my daily life:

  • Remove water from a windshield during a storm.
  • Swish the water in my bladder some when it hurts to dislodge bacteria.
  • Ask it to moisturize my hair.
  • Be able to tell if water was drinkable or not.
  • Push things in water out of the way so I wouldn’t ever have to panic about it.
  • Master watercolor.

Chelso, what element do you think you’d be drawn to in the Kingkiller world? What real life applications would you do with it?

I miss you and all your Tesla vibes. Thank you for being a thumb hero. 👍🏻I’m sending you good vibes wherever you are!

Leave a Reply

