Hopping Down the Bunny Trail

image

Dear Chelso,

Surrounded by boxes and packing tape, my little cave hut presented one last adventure for us. Our downstairs neighbors (the ones who owned the car with the heavy set of balls hanging off the back) have always presented entertainment. I’m somewhat certain that at some point they had four adults living there, a teenager, a baby, and a couple of dogs in a small two bedroom apartment. Recently they had a bunny on their front porch that’s super cute that would just hang out with its grey pitbull pal. We would coo at it regularly heading up into the apartment. Everyone knew who the bunny belonged to.

A couple of days before we were preparing for the movers to show up, Taco called me and said, “there’s a bunny outside romping in the grass! What do I do???” At first I was positive she should toss it back into the porch, but she brought up the point that it had already escaped once, why wouldn’t it again? In fear of the bunny escaping into the city, I told her to get it in the cat’a carrier and keep knocking on the neighbor’s apartment until they got home. Taco ends up cuddling and loving on this bunny the entire day before heading to work at 3pm, where I got my turn to coo at it at 6. This thing was so cute Chelso. I’ve never wanted to own a bunny, but that bunny made me second guess what I’ve ever wanted in life. We finally got the bunny back to its owners and it turned out to be like 8 years old (I thought it was a baby!) and its owner had already posted a bunch of lost pictures all over the complex. Happy to have babysat a rabbit for a day and I had to share with you our little adventure amongst the chaos.

Moving was crazy, cleanup was crazy and a pain, and on the brink of a shingles outbreak I am so glad that it is over. Also dear lord the amount of stuff I own. I have gained a new drive to claw through and discard a large chunk of my things. I had not realized how much useless crap I had until I had to haul it back and forth a million years from car to location, over and over and over again.

I know you will love our new place whenever you come to see it! It is nothing spectacular or updated, but it seems to hold its charm no matter who comes through the doors. There’s enough trees and foliage outside that you can sometimes believe that you are not in the desert at all. Also apparently they do annual checks to make sure the plumbing is working along with heater/ac and fire detectors (in all of the time at my old place they never did that). And the best part? I haven’t visited a laundromat since February!

I am sorry to have been gone so long without posting! I am hopeful to get back into it now that things are beginning to settle and I have more ideas to post! Chelso I hope you are conquering things and that a podcast might be in the future!

Leave a Reply

